Posted by: nevadansagainstgarbage | July 16, 2011

A LETTER FROM SENATOR HARRY REID

July 15, 2011

Ms. Laura Hummel
Winnemucca, NV 89445-4149

Dear Ms. Hummel:

Thank you for contacting me about the proposed Jungo landfill. I appreciate hearing from you.

Last year, the Humboldt County Commission voted unanimously to deny an extension of Recology’s dump permit. I applaud this decision by the County Commission, and the work of local citizen groups who kept this issue front and center. Recology’s proposal for the Jungo dump site would have brought San Francisco’s trash into our desert for the next 95 years, leaving a 20-story tall pile of garbage for future generations to contend with. I believe that the county commission’s decision will help protect our state’s water resources and our air quality, and will keep Nevada from becoming a dumping ground for other states.

As you may know, the county commission’s decision not to allow the Jungo dump to proceed was challenged by Recology and is currently being litigated in Federal District Court. I want you to know that I strongly support the County’s decision and no further action can be taken to try to revive the dump until there is a final decision by the Court.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with me. Please know that I will keep your thoughts in mind as I continue to work on behalf of Nevada’s rural communities. I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

My best wishes to you.

Sincerely,
A
HARRY REID
United States Senator
Nevada

Leave a Reply

Categories

